Sports News

NHL Hockey
Scoreboard| Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions

Calgary Flames (46-21-7)


Tue. 3/19 Thu. 3/21 Sat. 3/23 Mon. 3/25 Wed. 3/27
vs. Cls
W 4-2
Box | Recap
vs. Ott
W 5-1
Box | Recap
@ Van
7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST6:00 UAE (+1)22:00 ET23:00 BRT
Preview
vs. LA
6:00 PM PT7:00 PM MT8:00 PM CT9:00 PM ET1:00 GMT9:00 6:00 PM MST8:00 PM EST5:00 UAE (+1)21:00 ET22:00 BRT
vs. Dal
6:30 PM PT7:30 PM MT8:30 PM CT9:30 PM ET1:30 GMT9:30 6:30 PM MST8:30 PM EST5:30 UAE (+1)21:30 ET22:30 BRT

Canucks keep dreaming, hoping for best against Flames

The Vancouver Canucks are daring to dream again.

For much of the NHL season, the Canucks (32-32-10) have remained well below the playoff bar. But heading into Saturday's home game against the Calgary Flames (46-21-7), the Canucks are just four points shy of a postseason berth.

A three-game win streak, points from overtime and shootout losses, and other teams' inconsistencies have put Vancouver back in the hunt. A few days ago, many fans and media types questioned whether the Canucks should lose deliberately to gain a chance at a better draft position.

 MORE
Leaders
Points: J. Gaudreau92
Plus/Minus: M. Backlund37
Shots on Goal: J. Gaudreau234
PIM: S. Bennett91
Win: D. Rittich26
Shutouts: M. Smith2
Offense (Rank)
Goals: 265 (3)
Shots: 2395 (12)
PP%: 21.1% (11)
Penalty Minutes: 650 (13)
Assists: 464 (2)
SH Goals: 18 (1)
Standings
Pacific Division
  W L OTL Pts
x-Calgary 46 21 7 99
x-San Jose 43 23 9 95
Vegas 42 27 5 89
Arizona 36 32 7 79
Vancouver 32 32 10 74
Edmonton 33 34 7 73
Anaheim 31 36 9 71
Los Angeles 26 39 8 60
Full Standings
 
Defense (Rank)
Goals Against: 205 (23)
Shots Against: 2112 (29)
PK%: 80.0% (19)
Penalty Minutes: 726 (4)
Shutouts: 3 (20)
Sv%: 0.903 (18)
Injuries
Date Player Status
3/22 S. Bennett Upper-body injury (day-to-day)
2/14 J. Neal Lower-body injury (day-to-day)
Transactions
Date Player Transactions
3/21 C. Lazar Sent to minors Stockton-AHL
3/19 L. Philp Signed as Free Agent Two-year, entry-level contract
3/18 C. Lazar Called up from minors from Stockton-AHL
3/11 M. Stone Called up from minors from Stockton-AHL
3/10 A. Quine Called up from minors from Stockton-AHL
3/9 C. Lazar Sent to minors Stockton-AHL
3/5 M. Stone Sent to minors Stockton-AHL for conditioning stint
2/25 O. Fantenberg Traded for cond. 2020 4th-rd pick
2/15 C. Lazar Called up from minors from Stockton-AHL
2/9 R. Valiev Sent to minors Stockton-AHL
Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.