Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#41
Matt Wisler
ERA W-L K
4.28 1-1 32
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 6-3 / 205
Position: SPBorn: 9/12/1992 Birthplace: Bryan, Ohio
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 7th Round by Padres (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 30 3:20 PM PT4:20 PM MT5:20 PM CT6:20 PM ET18:20 ET22:20 GMT6:20 3:20 PM MST5:20 PM EST4:20 PM CST5:50 PM VEN2:20 UAE (+1)5:20 PM CT-Matt Wisler blew his first save, allowing two runs on two hits in 0.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-5 on Sunday. Wisler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.28 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 28 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Matt Wisler allowed three hits without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-4 on Friday. Wisler struck out one, ending the game with a 3.89 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 26 6:32 PM PT7:32 PM MT8:32 PM CT9:32 PM ET21:32 ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST8:32 PM EST7:32 PM CST9:02 PM VEN5:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Matt Wisler allowed one run - zero earned - on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Kansas City Royals 6-1 on Wednesday. Wisler struck out one, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 22 6:36 PM PT7:36 PM MT8:36 PM CT9:36 PM ET21:36 ET1:36 GMT9:36 6:36 PM MST8:36 PM EST7:36 PM CST9:06 PM VEN5:36 UAE (+1)8:36 PM CT-Matt Wisler did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Miami Marlins 5-1 on Saturday. Wisler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.14 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 19 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Matt Wisler did not allow a hit or walk in 1.2 scoreless innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-0 on Wednesday. Wisler struck out two, ending the game with a 4.25 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 17 7:25 PM PT8:25 PM MT9:25 PM CT10:25 PM ET22:25 ET2:25 GMT10:25 7:25 PM MST9:25 PM EST8:25 PM CST9:55 PM VEN6:25 UAE (+1)9:25 PM CT-Matt Wisler did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 8-0 on Monday. Wisler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.46 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 12:51 PM PT1:51 PM MT2:51 PM CT3:51 PM ET15:51 ET19:51 GMT3:51 12:51 PM MST2:51 PM EST1:51 PM CST3:21 PM VEN23:51 UAE2:51 PM CT-Matt Wisler allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 8-1 on Wednesday. Wisler struck out one, ending the game with a 4.59 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 5:57 PM PT6:57 PM MT7:57 PM CT8:57 PM ET20:57 ET0:57 GMT8:57 5:57 PM MST7:57 PM EST6:57 PM CST8:27 PM VEN4:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Matt Wisler did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the San Diego Padres 7-6 on Sunday. Wisler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.78 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST7:42 PM CST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-Matt Wisler allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the San Diego Padres 6-2 on Thursday. Wisler struck out one, ending the game with a 4.83 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 4 6:55 PM PT7:55 PM MT8:55 PM CT9:55 PM ET21:55 ET1:55 GMT9:55 6:55 PM MST8:55 PM EST7:55 PM CST9:25 PM VEN5:55 UAE (+1)8:55 PM CT-Matt Wisler did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-3 on Tuesday. Wisler struck out two, ending the game with a 4.85 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 31 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST9:41 PM CST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Matt Wisler allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 12-5 on Friday. Wisler struck out three, ending the game with a 5.02 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
July 30 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST9:21 PM CST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-The Reds have acquired Wisler, along with pitcher Lucas Sims and outfielder Preston Tucker, from the Braves for outfielder Adam Duvall.
Analysis: Once a highly touted prospect, Wisler may get a chance at starting again with the Reds in great needs of some options. The 25-year-old isn't a great bet for success, though, as he's 16-23 with a 5.27 ERA and a 1.41 WHIP at the major league level and now goes to a more hitter-friendly home park.
June 30 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST8:31 PM CST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)9:31 PM CT-Matt Wisler allowed four runs on five hits in 1.2 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 11-4 on Saturday. Wisler struck out two, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
June 26 8:00 PM PT9:00 PM MT10:00 PM CT11:00 PM ET23:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 8:00 PM MST10:00 PM EST9:00 PM CST10:30 PM VEN7:00 UAE (+1)10:00 PM CT-Matt Wisler allowed one run on three hits in 2.1 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-3 on Tuesday. Wisler struck out two, ending the game with a 4.32 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
May 29 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST9:32 PM CST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)10:32 PM CT-Matt Wisler allowed two runs on four hits in 4.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the New York Mets 7-6 on Tuesday. Wisler struck out four, ending the game with a 4.37 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 25 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Matt Wisler allowed two runs on two hits in 1.1 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-2 on Friday. Wisler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.34 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
May 18 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Matt Wisler fell to 1-1, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Miami Marlins 2-0 on Friday. Wisler struck out five, ending the game with a 3.63 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
May 18 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST3:44 PM CST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-The Atlanta Braves have recalled right-hander Matt Wisler from Triple-A Gwinnett to make a spot start Friday against Miami and give Sean Newcomb an extra day of rest.
Analysis: Manager Brian Snitker originally had Newcomb listed to start Friday, but decided it was best to give the left-hander and his other regular starters an extra day of rest.
Apr. 25 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST7:51 PM CST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-Matt Wisler allowed four runs on nine hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Cincinnati Reds 5-4 on Wednesday. Wisler did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Matt Wisler improved to 1-0, allowing one run on two hits in 7.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the New York Mets 12-4 on Thursday. Wisler struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.29 ERA and 0.29 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Atl 8 8 0 - 0 20 19 0 109.0 119 59 57 16 40 4 72 1.46 4.71
2016 Atl 7 13 1 - 1 27 26 0 156.2 159 90 87 26 49 3 115 1.33 5.00
2017 Atl 0 1 0 - 0 20 1 0 32.1 43 31 30 5 13 0 22 1.73 8.35
2018 Atl 1 1 0 - 0 7 3 0 26.2 30 16 16 6 5 0 21 1.31 5.40
2018 Cin 0 0 0 - 1 11 0 0 13.1 11 4 3 2 2 0 11 0.98 2.03
2018 Tot 1 1 0 - 1 18 3 0 40.0 41 20 19 8 7 0 32 1.20 4.28
Career 16 23 1 - 2 85 49 0 338.0 362 200 193 55 109 7 241 1.39 5.14

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 Atl 21 29 0 4 0 0 0 1 2 6 0 0 .138 .194 .138
2016 Atl 29 46 2 7 0 0 0 2 1 21 0 0 .152 .167 .152
2017 Atl 20 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Atl 7 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Tot 18 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 88 85 2 11 0 0 0 3 3 31 0 0 .129 .157 .129


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 365 96 89 92.4 50.76
Curveball 22 80 74 77 3.06
Slider 326 90 78 82 45.34
Changeup 6 87 86 86.7 .83

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.