Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#35
Justin Verlander
ERA W-L K
2.59 9-3 133
Team: HoustonHt / Wt: 6-5 / 225
Position: SPBorn: 2/20/1983 Birthplace: Manakin-Sabot, Virginia
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Tigers (2004)


Latest News
June 18 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Justin Verlander fell to 9-3, allowing four runs on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Houston Astros lost to the Cincinnati Reds 4-3 on Tuesday. Verlander struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.59 ERA and 0.74 WHIP on the season.
June 13 9:30 PM PT10:30 PM MT11:30 PM CT12:30 AM ET0:30 ET4:30 GMT12:30 9:30 PM MST11:30 PM EST10:30 PM CST12:00 AM VEN8:30 UAE11:30 PM CT-Justin Verlander allowed three runs on four hits in 7.0 innings as the Houston Astros lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-3 on Wednesday. Verlander struck out 15, ending the game with a 2.41 ERA and 0.73 WHIP on the season.
June 6 5:51 PM PT6:51 PM MT7:51 PM CT8:51 PM ET20:51 ET0:51 GMT8:51 5:51 PM MST7:51 PM EST6:51 PM CST8:21 PM VEN4:51 UAE (+1)7:51 PM CT-Justin Verlander allowed three runs on five hits in 6.1 innings as the Houston Astros defeated the Seattle Mariners 8-7 on Thursday. Verlander struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.40 ERA and 0.74 WHIP on the season.
June 2 9:48 PM PT10:48 PM MT11:48 PM CT12:48 AM ET0:48 ET4:48 GMT12:48 9:48 PM MST11:48 PM EST10:48 PM CST12:18 AM VEN8:48 UAE11:48 PM CT-Justin Verlander improved to 9-2, allowing one run on four hits and two walks in 8.0 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Oakland Athletics 5-1 on Saturday. Verlander struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.27 ERA and 0.74 WHIP on the season.
May 26 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST3:19 PM CST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-Justin Verlander fell to 8-2, allowing three runs on six hits in 7.0 innings, as the Houston Astros lost to the Boston Red Sox 4-1 on Sunday. Verlander struck out six, ending the game with a 2.38 ERA and 0.74 WHIP on the season.
May 21 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST9:06 PM CST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)10:06 PM CT-Justin Verlander improved to 8-1, allowing one run on one hit and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Chicago White Sox 5-1 on Tuesday. Verlander struck out 12, ending the game with a 2.24 ERA and 0.73 WHIP on the season.
May 15 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST7:51 PM CST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-Justin Verlander improved to 7-1, allowing one run on two hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-1 on Wednesday. Verlander struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.38 ERA and 0.79 WHIP on the season.
May 10 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST8:43 PM CST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Justin Verlander improved to 6-1, allowing one hit and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Texas Rangers 3-0 on Friday. Verlander struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.51 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
May 5 4:18 PM PT5:18 PM MT6:18 PM CT7:18 PM ET19:18 ET23:18 GMT7:18 4:18 PM MST6:18 PM EST5:18 PM CST6:48 PM VEN3:18 UAE (+1)6:18 PM CT-Justin Verlander improved to 5-1, allowing four runs on five hits and one walk in 6.1 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Los Angeles Angels 10-4 on Sunday. Verlander struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.86 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST8:16 PM CST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Justin Verlander fell to 4-1, allowing one run on two hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Houston Astros lost to the Minnesota Twins 1-0 on Monday. Verlander struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST8:42 PM CST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-Justin Verlander improved to 4-0, allowing one run on four hits in 8.0 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Minnesota Twins 7-1 on Wednesday. Verlander struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.61 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST9:28 PM CST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Justin Verlander improved to 3-0, allowing one run on three hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Texas Rangers 7-2 on Friday. Verlander struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 8:59 PM PT9:59 PM MT10:59 PM CT11:59 PM ET23:59 ET3:59 GMT11:59 8:59 PM MST10:59 PM EST9:59 PM CST11:29 PM VEN7:59 UAE (+1)10:59 PM CT-Justin Verlander improved to 2-0, allowing one run on two hits in 6.0 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Seattle Mariners 3-1 on Saturday. Verlander struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.52 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Justin Verlander allowed three runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Houston Astros defeated the New York Yankees 4-3 on Monday. Verlander struck out six, ending the game with a 4.24 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Justin Verlander allowed four runs on six hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the Houston Astros lost to the Texas Rangers 6-4 on Tuesday. Verlander struck out four, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 28 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST4:41 PM CST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Justin Verlander improved to 1-0, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 5-1 on Thursday. Verlander struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.29 ERA and 0.57 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2005 Det 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.1 15 9 9 1 5 0 7 1.76 7.15
2006 Det 17 9 0 - 0 30 30 1 186.0 187 78 75 21 60 1 124 1.33 3.63
2007 Det 18 6 0 - 0 32 32 1 201.2 181 88 82 20 67 3 183 1.23 3.66
2008 Det 11 17 0 - 0 33 33 1 201.0 195 119 108 18 87 8 163 1.40 4.84
2009 Det 19 9 0 - 0 35 35 3 240.0 219 99 92 20 63 5 269 1.18 3.45
2010 Det 18 9 0 - 0 33 33 4 224.1 190 89 84 14 71 0 219 1.16 3.37
2011 Det 24 5 0 - 0 34 34 4 251.0 174 73 67 24 57 0 250 0.92 2.40
2012 Det 17 8 0 - 0 33 33 6 238.1 192 81 70 19 60 2 239 1.06 2.64
2013 Det 13 12 0 - 0 34 34 0 218.1 212 94 84 19 75 1 217 1.31 3.46
2014 Det 15 12 0 - 0 32 32 0 206.0 223 114 104 18 65 1 159 1.40 4.54
2015 Det 5 8 0 - 0 20 20 1 133.1 113 56 50 13 32 1 113 1.09 3.38
2016 Det 16 9 0 - 0 34 34 2 227.2 171 81 77 30 57 1 254 1.00 3.04
2017 Det 10 8 0 - 0 28 28 0 172.0 153 76 73 23 67 4 176 1.28 3.82
2017 Hou 5 0 0 - 0 5 5 0 34.0 17 4 4 4 5 0 43 0.65 1.06
2017 Tot 15 8 0 - 0 33 33 0 206.0 170 80 77 27 72 4 219 1.17 3.36
2018 Hou 16 9 0 - 0 34 34 1 214.0 156 63 60 28 37 0 290 0.90 2.52
2019 Hou 9 3 0 - 0 16 16 0 107.2 60 32 31 20 20 0 133 0.74 2.59
Career 213 126 0 - 0 435 435 24 2866.2 2458 1156 1070 292 828 27 2839 1.15 3.36

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 Det 30 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2007 Det 32 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2008 Det 33 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2009 Det 35 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2010 Det 33 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 Det 34 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Det 33 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Det 34 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Det 32 6 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2016 Det 34 5 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .200 .200 .200
2017 Det 28 6 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 4 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2017 Tot 33 6 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 4 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2018 Hou 34 5 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .200 .200 .200
2019 Hou 16 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 435 50 2 5 0 0 0 1 0 24 0 0 .100 .100 .100

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2006 Det Total 1 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 21.2 26 17 14 5 10 0 23 5.82
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 7 3 3 1 4 0 5 5.06
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 7 4 4 2 1 0 6 6.75
    WS 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.0 12 10 7 2 5 0 12 5.73
2011 Det Total 2 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 20.1 19 12 12 2 10 0 25 5.31
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.0 6 5 5 0 5 0 12 5.00
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.1 13 7 7 2 5 0 13 5.56
2012 Det Total 3 1 0 - 0 4 4 1 28.1 16 7 7 4 6 0 29 2.22
    LDS 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 1 16.0 7 1 1 1 5 0 22 0.56
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 8.1 3 1 1 1 0 0 3 1.08
    WS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 6 5 5 2 1 0 4 11.25
2013 Det Total 1 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 23.0 10 1 1 1 3 0 31 0.39
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 15.0 6 0 0 0 2 0 21 0.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 8.0 4 1 1 1 1 0 10 1.13
2014 Det Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 3 3 1 1 0 4 5.40
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 3 3 1 1 0 4 5.40
2017 Hou Total 4 1 0 - 0 6 5 1 36.2 22 9 9 3 8 0 38 2.21
    LDS 2 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 8.2 7 3 3 1 4 0 3 3.12
    LCS 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 1 16.0 10 1 1 0 2 0 21 0.56
    WS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.0 5 5 5 2 2 0 14 3.75
2018 Hou Total 2 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 17.1 11 8 8 2 8 0 17 4.15
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 2 2 2 0 2 0 7 3.38
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.0 9 6 6 2 6 0 10 4.50
Career 13 7 0 - 0 25 24 2 152.1 110 57 54 18 46 0 167 3.19

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 Det Total 4 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Det Total 4 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Hou Total 6 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 25 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 841 99 90 94.6 51.25
Curveball 285 83 77 79.4 17.37
Slider 438 91 84 87.6 26.69
Changeup 77 91 85 87.4 4.69

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.